Skip to main content

Famous Director Sri Dileesh Pothan and Cine Actor Alencier distributed sixth edition Prathidhwani Short Film Festival PQFF 2017 awards.


Sixth edition of Prathidhwani Short Film Festival PQFF 2017 concluded with a spectacular closing ceremony. 35 short films were screened at this edition, which is conducted every year for the IT employees of Kerala. Jury panel consisting of national and State award-winning filmmakers Sri Nemom Pushparaj and Smt Vidhu Vincent, headed by film critic Sri M.F. Thomas evaluated the entries.

Director Sri Dileesh Pothan, Cine Actor Sri Alencier and Sri M.F .Thomas distributed the awards to the winners in the closing ceremony conducted at Travancore Hall, Technopark on Dec 7. Festival Director Magi Y V presided the function and General Convener Aswin MC gave the introductory speech.

Dileesh Pothan remarked that even a small token of appreciation gives high encouragement to the artists and Prathidhwani is doing a great job by providing such a wide platform to the movie enthusiasts of IT employees of Kerala. He shared his initial film making experiences with his usual sense of wit and humor. He said, he was extra careful in the movie “Maheshinte Prathikaram” due to the mistakes that had crept in his first telefilm and the embarrassment followed. Further, he added that when the habit of sight changes, the entertainment factor increases and that is the reason why his films might have been enjoyable.

Alencier Lopez who is a theatre and film artiste shared his life experiences. He remembered how 25 years back, alone, he ran around the Secretariat to protest the demolition of the Babri Masjid. Now his protests are being noticed since he has become famous in the past two years with his movies. He added, he has certain responsibilities towards society being an artist; hence, he has always used art to protest and will continue to do so. He remarked, artists should always protest and an organization like Prathidhwani should actually be a “” – An opposing voice in the society.

The chief guest Sri Dileesh Pothan, Sri Alencier and Sri M.F.Thomas were presented with Prathidhwani Mementos by Prathidhwani Executive Member Nizam, Prathidhwani Women forum Member Meera M.S and Prathidhwani Women Forum President Prasanthi Pramod. Prathidhwani Executive member Rahul chandran delivered “Vote of Thanks”. Prathidhwani President Vineeth Chandran & Secretary Rajeev Krishnan were also present in the ceremony.

Award winning short films

  • Best Film -         "Awakening" directed by Suraj Nair(Infosys)

  • Second Best Film – “Rodham" directed by Sarin (UST)

  • Best Director -     Deepak S Jay (Applexus Technologies) for the film "45 Seconds"

  • Best Screenplay -   Freddy Abraham (Envestnet) for the film "Pretha Veedu"

  • Best Performer Award shared by

    Mani Nair - For the Film "June 1" directed by Ratheesh C B (Envestnet)
    Parvathy Krishnan - For the Film "Awakening" directed by Suraj Nair (Infosys)  
  • Best DOP - Sibin Chandran for the film "Yaar" directed by Amal J Prasad (Alamy Images)

  • Best Editor - Appu Bhattathiri for the film "45 Seconds" directed by Deepak S Jay (Applexus Technologies)

    Special Jury Award

    "The Unsung Heros" directed by Baburaj Asariya (Allianz Technopark)

    Viewers’ Choice Award

    Bomb 2: The Alien Saga directed by Jophin Varghese (UST Global)

    Chakshu Sravana Galsthamam Darduram – Paul K Thomas (Tata Elxsi)

    The award-winning films were screened at the end of the ceremony.

    The sixth edition has received greater response than the previous editions and further saw a remarkable increase in film entries.  Until now, a total of 160 films have been screened at QISA festivals. Famous personalities in the entertainment industry including Sri Shaji N Karun (2012), Sri Vineeth Srinivasan (2013). Sri Adoor Gopalakrishnan (2014), Sri Shyamaprasad (2015), Sri Jayaraj (2016) were the chief guests in the previous editions of QISA.